How to be more efficient on social media

Posted on May 23, 2012

0


As a person who loves using social media (and looks after it for many other business owners who don’t have time) I need to make sure that my time is used efficiently.

I do this by not only having a strict diary, but by scheduling many of my upcoming week’s updates the week before. This means that I only use it to engage with my fab following.

My tips for social media efficiency success:
1. Use a social media dashboard- there are lots out there and they are mostly free. Look them up, read a bit about them and see which one will work best for your style of social media. I use hootsuite as it looks after my favourite platforms.

2. Give yourself an hour to schedule your updates – whether it’s the Friday before, in the middle of the week or on the Monday, make sure you are scheduling at least 3 updates per day to twitter and 1 per day to LinkedIn and facebook. This means that if you get so busy you forget to engage, that something had gone out. Stress free!

3. Use your smart phone – put it to good use and add the app for the dashboard you use, this means that you can just scan through. After all, what are smart phones for?! Just remember not to go over the top as your family may miss you!

4. Diarise times to engage – even if it’s for 5 minutes every ither day, engagement is key, especially on twitter.

How do you manage your time on social media? Or is it just too much to think about?

I hope these tips help and do get in touch if you’d like any other tips.

Posted in: business