Boost your energy

Posted on July 25, 2011

0


Whilst working I, like many other people (I hope!), get the midday energy lull.On a hot day, having just eaten a bit of lunch, my eyes start to get heavy, I find tasks take a little longer than usual and I tend to want to get out for a while and re-energise myself…

I have found many ways to try to solve this problem and would love to know how you beat it, here are my ways to boost your energy:

1. Eat fruit not chocolate – If I eat some fruit, such as strawberries and blackberries, I get a higher level of energy after my lunch (or snack), those fitness trainers are right!

2. Take a walk – It may use 20 minutes of your working day, but it’s much better to come back to your desk energised and ready to work than to stay at it and feel more exhausted

3. Exercise – They always say it, exercise is a way to stay energised. If I miss my spinning sessions in the week, the next week I am tired during the day and feel less invigorated to start work.

4. Water not coffee – Coffee is a great way to start the day, especially if you start at 6:30 like I do, but try to say no! Coffee seems to have a great energy boost for an hour but the after effect is not as energised.

5. Vitamins & Iron – If  you get really run-down and none of the usual tips seem to help you may be low on iron or some of your vitamins, take some and see if they help (see a doctor too if it’s real exhaustion that you’re feeling)

So, what do you do to help you feel energised throughout the day? Do you go out to lunch, start with an exciting task, or give in and have a 20 minute power nap?

Posted in: business