Networking: does it work for you?

Posted on June 27, 2011

0


I’ve been networking since the age of 16 (yes, I started quite young!) starting at BNI, in which I met, on a weekly basis, with a group of business owners to pass business, talk about our own business and meet for regular networking events. At first it was, I must admit, rather scary, especially as I was the youngest in a group of experienced businesses. I learned to calm down about the 60 seconds I got to talk about my business, and realised how much I could get from this networking malarcky, I even started going to bigger events such as Best of Richmond and May’s The Business Start-up show and I use Ecademy and Twitter as a source to find new contacts all over the world.

What I’m trying to say is that, without these networking events (both online and offline) I wouldn’t have the contacts, business clients and colleagues that I have now. My business wouldn’t be flourishing so soon after being created and I wouldn’t have the courage to speak with large businesses that I have now, thanks to being put into networking so soon.

If you had the chance, would you have started networking at a younger age? Do you think that networking has helped grow your business, if so, which events have helped you the most?

Posted in: business